LogoBlack.png

An Archive.

Mission

Through art, action and advocacy, The Breath Project (TBP) seeks to build a more equitable theater community in this country, and actively dismantle structural racism in the American Theater. 

 

Art:  In partnership with organizations and artists across the nation, TBP will create, develop and support original theatrical works, created by BIPOC artists.  The work that is housed by TBP will be used as a tool for education and advocacy, as a living time capsule of this moment in history. 

 

Action:  TBP is working to build relationships between local artists and theaters in their community and region, creating more opportunities for BIPOC theater artists, technicians and administrators throughout the country.  Working across our national partnerships, we will seek to end the notion that plays by BIPOC artists fulfill a quota or check a box for a theater, and instead become an organic and permanent part of the American Theater landscape.  

 

Advocacy:  TBP will work to support the organizations that produce, fund and support the American Theater to eliminate the racism and biases that exist in our institutions and business practices. 

Happy Anniversary to The Breath Project's Partner Theaters, Collaborating Artists and Audiences - Thank you for going on this ride with us!

Video Message from Artistic Director, Gamal Abdel Chasten

 
tbp2021FESTIVAL.jpg

COMING UP NEXT

2021 FESTIVAL

— December 4, 2021 —

 

FREE EVENT

Streaming Content Goes Live at

12pm PS | 1pm MT | 2pm CT | 3pm ET

 

Pedigree

By Brittney Harris

 

Korean Winner

M.J. Kang

 

Ronnie and Vince

Curtis Drake Shepard

United States of AMNESIA: Dare to Remember

By Jose Torres-Toma

 

Join us for a talk-back with the artists at

5pm PS | 6pm MT | 7pm CT | 8pm ET

 

The Breath Project 

Presents 

08:46

 

Written & Performed by

Gamal ABDEL Chasten

 

Directed by

marieke gaboury

Notice to Viewers:  This performance is intended to be viewed by mature audiences, and contains language that some viewers will find upsetting.

SUBMIT YOUR PROJECT 

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

  • Submissions must be a recording of a live performance of original work that has been created in the past year, and must be 8 minutes and 46 seconds in length;

  • Submissions will be accepted from artists of color who reside in the United States (work submitted by artists under the age of 18 will be considered in a youth category);

  • The deadline for consideration for the 2021 Virtual Festival is September 15. The archive submission process is currently open-ended (there is no deadline to submit to the archive only).

  • All submissions received by September 15 will also be eligible for consideration for a 2022 New Play Commission award (up to $17,000 will be awarded to a single project, or smaller amounts to multiple projects).

  • We strongly recommend that you read the Frequently Asked Questions, and check the list of Partner Theaters to see which theaters are able to offer space and other resources. 

Submission Form 

arrow&v
Terms and Conditions:

Thanks for submitting!